Jon Thackray joins the “team”

The work involved in producing the next version of meataxe64 has proved a bit too heavy for me, but Jon Thackray has agreed (at least in principle) to move from a frequent advisor and assistant to a member of the team, which now numbers two!

My feeling is that my own skills are at the lower levels of the software, and I love to squeeze another 10% of performance out of almost anything. Those who have tried to use my offerings, however, will know that my skills at user interface are (English understatement) not always top-notch, and the idea is that I write the low-level functions (as I do now) and Jon takes charge of the higher levels.

More specifically, the idea is that there is a “functions” layer, where the low-level ones, such as multiplication, Gaussian, transpose etc. I write, and the higher level ones (such as null-space, invariant subspace, split and standard base) Jon writes, along with all the programs that use them.

There remains much to do to sort out the mess it is currently in, but I feel the focus of drawing a clear line between performance and usability has a good chance of resulting in a system that has both.

Leave a comment